FaceBook | YouTube | Contact | Pictures |

Sistercookie here. Pat asked me to make a guest appearance. I sent him an old hard drive, an old sound card and an old video card (I didn't know if any of it would work though). Since my old computer was on Windows 98, I thought the equipment would at least be compatiable since Pat since he is still running on Windows 98. Poor thing.

Since I have had my own adventures as a computer geek with Windows 98, Pat thought I should just recite my history with the hard drive and Windows 98.

First off is the fact that Windoze 98, as I like to refer to it, doesn't recognize a hard drive bigger then 20 gig so you have to partition any hard drives into multiple sections if its bigger then 20 gig. The one I gave to Pat is 28.5 gig. It gave me a lot of trouble after the air conditioning went out last summer. I mean it was July on the second floor so imagine the computer overheating.

So Pat was able to access the hard drive but only if he opened it otherwise it freezes up Pat's poor computer. By this time in computer history Windows 98 is ancient. I mean its 5 years old. I could go back to the days of Windows 3.1 and complain about that but I really don't want to relive that nightmare.

My joke about Windows itself is saying of Windows "Its not a bug, its a feature".

See in Windows 3.1 and sometimes in newer versions of Windows you get a GPF. Most people don't even know what that means. GPF stands for General Protection Fault or Failure depending on who you ask. The point is it means Windows gacked (like a cat throwing up a hairball) and now you have to restart your computer because its frozen. This can involved anything from hitting ctrl-alt-del to hitting the reset button to unplugging your computer from all power sources. Windows teaches you the lesson of SAVE, SAVE, SAVE because it could crash at any moment.

Since poor Pat here is still stuck in Windows 98, I thought I would donate my old equipment to Pat. I mean a 1 gig hard drive is pathetic if you are trying to do art. I mean I do remember the days of my 540 meg hard drive but its a scary memory.

If you are a computer geek many times you assemble your own computer or collect other people's equipment that they were just going to throw out. Now Pat is telling me they are trying to collect $50 taxes on equipment that if I wanted to replace new it would cost less than $200 but they weren't new and Pat can't even use the video card. I mean the pieces are from a computer that's at least 3 years old. Besides it could be considered trash to someone else. The canada government should not be able to collect $50 on $200 equipment that might be worth only $150 at best. I mean the values I put were just for insurances purposes including cost of postage or shipping charges. Like are they talking $50 U.S or canadian? See nobody calls me and asks me if it really worth the $200? I mean maybe like I said if I wanted to replace it, but maybe I would just donate it and take it as a loss and not care.

It never occurs to anyone except me sometimes that you can do something completely out of the kindness of your heart. Besides the U.S. Post Office told me that everything is included in the cost of the shipping and you pay to insure it if its over $100 and I always use round numbers because I really don't know exactly. Let the canadian customs computer geeks take a look. They might get a big laugh at best. At worst they would say "Pathetic".

I mean if I thought that it was going to become a ordeal for Pat, I would have at least supplied the stupid customs people with a detailed description of each piece of possibly working equipment. But it never occured for them to call me when it was still in the hands of the stupid customs people or at least open the box write down the computer equipment. I still have my invoice from when I bought the original stuff. Why is it that I can think of these things and customs can't? I mean nobody called and said the description needed more detail. Duh.

So anyway hopefully the customs people won't interfer with Pat's ability to try to be creative on his own time. The boy has potential and who doesn't like the color blue?

Besides not only am I encouraging art but I am performing a public service. Does the government ever think of that? No. See Pat could be out causing chaos and mayhem all the time but then he wouldn't need a bigger hard drive because he wouldn't be at home being creative on his computer. Can I say "Duh" again?

In my opnion, I think Pat has potential. Whatever that means is up to Pat. You don't need to take my advice, just judge for yourself. Use your brain. Pat is.

Just sign me,

Sistercookie






Quote:"Life is hard enough with everybody highlighting your mistakes,
I don't kick you when you fall down!"

Patrick Wallace on Facebook
Free Domains | dland~!