FaceBook | YouTube | Contact | Pictures |

My review...yay or nay? I'm not thrilled with it. Leave a comment!


[-I designed this rhyme to explain all I know-]

Layout Design: 25 / 25

When I first took a look at your page, it reminded me of the last Uncle Bob layout I could recall. Lots of blue. Color-coordinated well, with a lighter strip and some text down the middle. Text on either side. Your page comes off as a little less balanced, but that's because you have a whole bunch of text navigation on the left and black space on the right. It would be different if you allocated more entry space, though; just extend the table for the rest of the page.

What else to say? Man, I have to say that your diary looks just fine, but it's a little cluttered with the excessive links at the top and the graphical stuff at the bottom. Idea? Why not shift those new, old, profile, etc. links to the right, then make a page for your banners? You seem the web creative and artistic type and I think you can market that side of yourself without cluttering up the main entry page to do so.

+5 for a self-design.

Content: 15 / 40

First impression: I visited a few entries whose prose could be easily describe as song lyrical. That's cool. But in a strange way, I think of lyrics as being very expressive and carefree, that they flow along and create vivid imagery. Your lyrics, I guess, are very appropriate for the music you like, but they seem very... agh, what's the word. Tumbling? Downward spiral? I didn't feel much of an upbeat rift; it wasn't very evocative or interesting.

The rest I read were summarizing. You talk about your day, your love for Avril Lavigne, how people don't understand you. Your clothes. All the bracelets you've purchased lately. Yeah. I'm sorry Pat, but I lost interest pretty quickly because I feel that your writerly development seems misplaced. All the emotions I wanted to dig out of you weren't there. As a reader, I felt that I was at arm's length; maybe I'm not privy to the good stuff because I don't have a password to your private entries, but I would like to think you give the "public folks" that same critical attention.

I scrolled through a bunch of random meh's, w0ot's, and stuff. I couldn't keep up.

Contact Info: 6 / 5

E-mail, notes, guestbook, tagboard. +1 for IM.

Errors: 2 / 5

Frequent spelling errors, grammar issues. Real pet peeve on the excessive use of Internet shorthand. Substituting o's for 0's and using meh, w0ot, and stuff really gets to me.

You often change the format of your date and time listings which kills the consistency.

Navigation: 4 / 5

All links accountable, but you should archive your entries a little better. Month-by-month is a solid approach because readers won't have to scroll and scroll and scroll for content.

Updates: 6 / 10

You try

Bonus: 6 / 5

Plenty. +1 for your own chat page.

Return: 1 / 5

Doubtful.

Total: 65

So said, Dee.








Quote:"Life is hard enough with everybody highlighting your mistakes,
I don't kick you when you fall down!"

Patrick Wallace on Facebook
Free Domains | dland~!